American Optometric Association Announces 2023 Award Recipients

Vision MondayThe American Optometric Association (AOA), American Optometric Student Association (AOSA), and Optometry Cares—The AOA Foundation announced the 2023 winners of the organization’s annual awards, including the AOA awards, AOSA Student of the Year, National Optometry Hall of Fame, Dr. W. David Sullins Jr. InfantSEE Award, and Paraoptometric Professional awards. Award recipients will be honored throughout Optometry’s Meeting in Washington, D.C. on June 21-24, 2023. The AOA’s annual Doctor of Optometry awards for Optometric Educator of the Year, Distinguished Service, Optometrist of the Year and Young Optometrist of the Year are submitted by affiliate associations.

The AOA’s Apollo Award is the highest award presented to the general public. It honors persons or organizations for distinguished service to the visual welfare of the public. This year’s winner is the Health Care Alliance for Patient Safety. The Health Care Alliance for Patient Safety (HCAPS) was founded in 2018 to advocate for patient safety and to protect and defend the doctor-patient relationship.

Read more.